Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot is a community-driven program. It’s designed to spread the benefits of economic immigration to smaller communities by creating a path to permanent residence for skilled foreign workers who want to work and live in one of the participating communities.

The following communities are participating in the pilot. 

  • North Bay, Ontario
  • Sudbury, Ontario
  • Timmins, Ontario
  • Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
  • Thunder Bay, Ontario
  • Brandon, Manitoba
  • Altona/Rhineland, Manitoba
  • Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
  • Claresholm, Alberta
  • Vernon, British Columbia
  • West Kootenay (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), British Columbia

To be considered eligible to participate in the pilot, the community must:

  •  have a population of 50,000 people or less and be located at least 75 km from the core of a Census Metropolitan Area OR up to 200,000 people and be considered remote from other larger cities (using Statistics Canada’s index of remoteness)
  •  be located in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Yukon; 
  •  have job opportunities;
  •  have an economic development plan;
  •  have a local economic development organization that can manage the pilot for your community;
  •  have the capacity to settle new immigrants in the community by having or developing:
  •  relationships with local or regional immigrant-serving organizations;
  •  opportunities to connect newcomers with established members of the community, such as through mentoring or networking;
  •  access to key services like education, housing, transportation, and health care.